Posted by: brambledoula | June 20, 2008

First Baby Survey

1. Were you married at the time?   Yes

2. What were your reactions when you found out you were pregnant?   Anxious, Surprised, Happy

3. How old were you?   21

4. How did you find out you were pregnant?   Felt like it, peed on a stick to confirm.

5. Who did you tell first?   My huband
6. Did you want to find out the sex?   No

7. Due date?   June 21st

8. Did you deliver early or late?  Not a big fan of the term early or late. I guess technically he was early if you had to label it tho; I had severe pre-ecclampsia and he came at 37 weeks.

9. Did you have morning sickness?   More like morning noon and night sickness!

10. What did you crave?  Lemonade and frosting!

11. Who irritated you the most?    No one really, I spent most of the pregnancy alone with my cat.

12. What was your first child’s sex?    boy

13. How many pounds did you gain throughout the pregnancy?  85
14. Did you have any complications with your pregnancy?   I was pre-ecclamptic.

15. Where did you give birth?   Langley Air Force Base

16. How many hours were you in labor?  19

17. Who drove you to the hospital?    Husband
18. Who watched?  Half the hospital staff I think…

19. Was it natural or c-section?    Potentially preventable cesarean. My son’s heart rate dropped when the CNM gave me narcotics because I was making HER uncomfortable.

20. Did you take medicine to ease the pain?  Forced stadol, failed epidural, resulting in a spinal for the section.

21. How much did your child weigh?   6lb 11oz

22. Did your child have any complications?  Not at first glance however he has sensory integration problems, food allergies, eczema and other issues that I feel stem from a combination of his birth, the hospital giving him formula, and following the recommended vaccination schedule.

23. What did you name him/her?   Jacob Erik

24. How old is your first born today?    7
25. Who does your child look like?  Mostly like daddy but a little like me in his features.

I think it can be made clear from this survey why I went on to choose homebirth, and do what I do for a living.

Leave a Reply

Categories

