Posted by: brambledoula | March 28, 2008

Bread and musings on the budget menu.

Came out a bit heavy, but good. Tips I found online suggest using less flour. I think I will try that, along with maybe mixing flours. I have on hand- regular white flour, tapioca flour, rice flour (brown and white), bean flours, oat flour, potato flour, quinoa flour, various GF flour mixes, um, I’m sure there’s more. Now that my lucky boy seems to be handling some of his allergic foods better I’m curious how all these exotic flours will cook up with a little gluten in the mix.

On another note, I’m finding it somehow satisfying to spend most of my day in the kitchen. While it’s a little bit of a pain in the ass I’m still managing to squeeze in homeschool time (even hosted an event today), nursing/caring for the baby (who loves it cuz he gets to spend more time in the sling), and occasionally checking my email and (obviously) blogging. It’s just interesting because suddenly despite dirtying more stuff, I’m cleaning more because I’m in there anyway, and much to my chagrin fly lady is right- a clean sink really does brighten up a room. And since my kitchen/living room/family room are practically one room, thats a lot of room to brighten. It’s satisfying to feel like I’m providing for my family despite part of me wanting to buck convention and say screw the whole June Cleaver thing.

What else is interesting is this cheapo menu makes a TON of food. Everyone is stuffed and I’ve even got leftovers.

Amazing what a little planning ahead will do.

Responses

  1. Do you have a membership to Costco or Sam’s? Or do you know someone we can bribe to buy yeast? I don’t want a membership for that one flipping item.


Leave a Reply

Categories

