Posted by: brambledoula | December 10, 2007

The Golden Compass

::sigh:: I wanted to stay out of this. But in the interest of being informed, I went to see the movie. Now, I have not read the books, and have been told that the movie was very watered down, so keep in mind I am only partially informed on the subject. The movie was kinda boring in all honesty. The special effects were good, and I really liked the polar bears. Plot wise, it played almost identical to any fight between good and evil good triumphs over all with an epic battle at the end. I’ve also heard some mom’s up in arms over the level of violence. There was no more, and I’d wager even slightly less, violence than the Narnia movie, which I keep hearing the movie compared to in the realm of religion vs. atheism.

As far as the books go, maybe the movie will inspire kids to read the books, maybe it won’t, but they are aimed at an age level where most kids will already have and idea what they believe anyhow. If you don’t want them reading it, don’t let them read it. Leave it at that.

I’m sure it’s not the end of it since sequels are planned, in addition to the trailer for the next Narnia Chronicle also being aired at the beginning of the movie but I’m already sick of it and don’t want to hear anymore about it. They’re stories, nothing more. Don’t read more into it than there really is.

In nearly all aspects of life, I truly believe in informed choice. Weigh all sides of a subject before making decisions. I really think a lot of people discussing the topic haven’t bothered to inform themselves with more than “Oh My It Was Written By An Athiest”.

Information is power.

Here’s my “food for thought” nugget of the day (which was incidentally written by a Buddhist):

Not by silence
does someone confused
& unknowing
turn into a sage.
but whoever–wise,
as if holding the scales,
taking the excellent–
rejects evil deeds;
he is a sage,
that’s how he’s a sage.
Whoever can weigh
both sides of the world:
that’s how he’s called a sage.

-Dhammapada, 19, translated by Thanissaro Bhikkhu.

Leave a Reply

Categories

