Posted by: brambledoula | November 9, 2007

Iguanas are too smart for their own good.

Someone on my iguana list just posted the other day that their iguana escaped and they weren’t sure how, other than maybe a loose spot in the door. Someone else responded how iguanas are smart and will often escape via any means possible. I got to thinking about a loose hinge on my own iguana enclosure and the fact that the sudden drop in humidity has made the door a nudge loose.  Well aside from all of this, my poor ig hadn’t done his business in a few days, and upon googling why, discovered his temps may have been too low so this morning I added an extra light and left for the day. Sure enough I get home today and look to see if the trick had worked (it did, ew) but also to find said ig sitting on the back of my couch, door hanging open. Time to call the pet store for a new cage…(at least he did his dirty work in the cage BEFORE escaping, instead of on my couch…)

(In addition he got his claws clipped while I had him out anyway cuz he scratched the crap out of me in the recapturing process…If anyone reading this knows me personally I swear I’m not trying to off myself, he just got me a good one across the wrist. )

Responses

  1. […] brambledoula wrote an interesting post today on Iguanas are too smart for their own good.Here’s a quick excerptTime to call the pet store for a new cage…(at least he did his dirty work in the cage BEFORE escaping, instead of on my couch…) (In addition he got his claws clipped while I had him out anyway cuz he scratched the crap out of me in the … […]

  2. […] brambledoula wrote an interesting post today on Iguanas are too smart for their own good.Here’s a quick excerptTime to call the pet store for a new cage…(at least he did his dirty work in the cage BEFORE escaping, instead of on my couch…) (In addition he got his claws clipped while I had him out anyway cuz he scratched the crap out of me in the … […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

