Posted by: brambledoula | November 7, 2007

The ambulance chasers have a new gold mine.

I was making a bagel and was glancing at the front of the phone book my husband had left near the toaster (If there’s a flat surface in my home stuff gets left there…).  I wasn’t really even looking more than half day dreaming but then something caught my eye- on the advertisement you typically see for the lawyers getting you big money for accidents, worker’s comp, wrongful death, etc, they’ve added a new one- birth injury. While I suppose I’m not shocked per se, I guess I am a bit disgusted and saddened that this has become so incredibly prevalent a problem that the dime a dozen ambulance chaser type lawyers have added it to their repertoire. I don’t really know what to think or say other than to hope that mothers and babies who are being hurt are left with the strength to combat our failing system. Part of me dislikes the ability to so easily sue for nearly anything because it’s part of what’s driven insurance rates up to the point where doctors can’t always practice evidence based medicine anymore, but at the same time, the ability to sue, and win, sets precedents against unnecessary procedures. I’ll put out there that I also hope that this turns the tides the right way eventually, toward evidence based care, and doesn’t make the problem worse with more and more restrictions.

Leave a Reply

Categories

