Posted by: brambledoula | November 2, 2007

Lettuce rejoice!

Har dee har har. πŸ™‚ For some reason my site keeps coming up in a search for “Romaine leaf pregnant woman”. I presume someone is having a craving. Just thought I’d note that as long as your veggies are fresh and washed, romaine is good for you, a source of vitamins, eat it up. (In fact in my first pregnancy I admit I ate an entire head of lettuce not so much because I wanted the lettuce but because I was craving olive oil and couldn’t justify just drinking it out of the bottle by itself…)

Anyhow here’s a breakdown for you:

One cup of romaine lettuce has:

  • 8 calories
  • 0.58 gram protein
  • 1 gram fiber
  • 16 mg calcium
  • 116 mg potassium
  • 11.3 mg vitamin C
  • 64 mcg folate
  • 48.2 mcg vitamin K
  • 1637 mcg beta carotene
  • 1087 mcg of lutein + zeaxanthin.

Thats a pretty nice dose of some good pregnancy vitamins! Especially good in early postpartum and late pregnancy to bolster your colostrum with the vitamin k that your baby won’t make on their own till about 8 days post partum if you’re choosing not to get the supplement shot.

read more about this leaf here along with recipes!

Hope this helps.

Responses

  1. “I was craving olive oil”

    You’re so much better than I am! I’d have bought a loaf of french bread and dipped for my craving LOL!

  2. That sounds good too but I think this time around I’d have to drench the bread in mozzarella, tomatoes and the aforementioned olive oil and call it bruchetta πŸ™‚


Leave a Reply

Categories

