Posted by: brambledoula | October 8, 2007

Disclaimer: I swear I’m not high.

I have mentioned I have insomnia. Said insomnia only gets worse during pregnancy as I have this tendency to pull the same muscle in my back every single pregnancy, and it makes it hard to sleep at night.

Ironically I got this little tip in my email this morning:

Rest Easy

Your third trimester is when your body needs the most rest. Ironically, it’s also probably when you are not getting very much good sleep. Between leg cramps, heartburn, and more trips to the bathroom, it’s no wonder that it seems like your body is trying to get used to sleep deprivation for when the baby comes! To get more and better sleep at night:

  • Go to bed and wake up at the same time each day.
  • Have a glass of milk before you go to bed at night.
  • Avoid spicy foods within 3 hours of bedtime.
  • Get a little bit of exercise or fresh air sometime in the late afternoon or evening.

Read more about how to slip into a steady slumber: http://www.babyfit.com/articles.asp?id=546

 

Oddly removing the baby doesn’t seem to be anywhere on that list. Probably because you still don’t get any more sleep with a newborn. Still, with a newborn I feel like I get a more solid sleep even if it’s less hours, and I’ll take that over what I’ve got now.

Anyway, enough whining and digression. I think about weird stuff when I can’t sleep. I often get these ideas stuck in my head and make it harder to sleep because my brain just won’t shut down around said ideas.

Here is where my disclaimer comes in.

I got to thinking about astral projection.  (Really, I’m not high)

I had a friend in college who was really into studying it. It’s an interesting concept and there seems to be a couple types of it. Both involve somehow leaving your body behind, connected only by a thin rope of spectral goo, to do one of two things- visit real time places and people virtually unbeknownst to  all, or to travel the astral plane among unicorns and dragons and the like.  The first is sort of a nice idea at first; say you’re separated from your beloved, you can easily go visit them. At the same time it’s the stuff that sci-fi movies are made of. Many an X-files episode dealt with people able to leave their body at will to commit crime, or movies of serial killers leaving their bodies to either possess another, or to jump from their body just before the moment of death to remain alive to torment others. Didn’t even Lord Voldemort do this in a manner of speaking, removing pieces of his soul to store in inanimate objects in order to remain somewhat immortal, or take the “Chucky” movies, with the killer possessing a doll in order to cheat death. Creepy stuff. Also there is the theory that while you’re out of body someone else can jump in and use yours, or that if the cord binding you to your body is somehow cut, it would bring on your death (Stephen King has a story floating around somewhere of little astral creatures that go around and cut the cord of living, in-body, people, that connects them to the cosmos in general.)

The second sort of travel to me is more a method of deep meditation. I meditate frequently myself and often a dragon or unicorn or other astral type creature may show up only because I like dragons and unicorns, feel they are creatures of protection and would make sense for them to be there. If you’re a big KISS fan your meditations might take place as a concert. To each their own. This sort feels more realistic to me, tho less a form of true “travel” and not as much a leaving of the body, and more a form of almost lucid dreaming perhaps. I do think that this mindspace may leave your self more open and susceptible but not to the degree that actually leaving your body may. Deep meditation is a part of many faiths, a place where enlightenment can occur. It’s often considered a necessity for health.

There is also a theory that we create an astral web of sorts, between all people we have connections with in our lives, and that in a way we are all interconnected with each other because of this.  If you start studying dreams and dream cycles (also considered connected with the astral plane), you’ll find cases of people having the same dreams as each other, which is linked to this theory of the great web we’re all connected by. (If you like this idea start reading Orson Scott Card’s Ender books, as you get into the third or fourth one it really starts getting into things like philotic connections and “realspace” and “no-space” and the drawing of souls to create life, etc)

Here’s where I get this somewhat on topic for my general blog subjects:

I got to thinking about how various sorts of astral travel relate to pregnancy. If you think about it, depending on when you feel the beginning of life (soul entering the body?) is, if you feel life begins as conception, then pregnancy is the only time in your life that two souls can sort of occupy one body. Some people believe in spirit babies, who circle us until it is their time to be born, and many mothers report knowing their babies before conception.  Some religious texts note that this soul enters the baby’s body at the moment of quickening, somewhat condoning abortive procedures before that point as the baby isn’t considered “alive” without it’s soul.  Either way, if you are truly able to leave your body to walk around the mundane world, if you are pregnant does the baby stay put, does it travel with you, is the baby able to take over your body in order to protect it from dangers of others willing to take it over, etc?

It’s really a confusing concept, the idea of two souls in one body, and hard to explain to anyone who’s never been pregnant.

The second sort of “travel” to me always seemed to be a good way for the meeting of the souls, a way that you and your baby could meet in this astral/meditative space to talk with one another. A way for mothers to communicate with their unborn. Focus on a safe location for your point of meditation, call out to your unborn, and see if they come to you. May also be a good media for birth art, meditating first upon the possibilities you want to manifest (healthy baby, natural birth, short labor, etc), visualizing them to a point where they seem reality, and then placing them down on paper as a way to solidify them in the “real” world.

If you get into thinking about the philotic connections and astral web, then we, and our babies, and our spouses, and baby’s siblings, etc, are all connected all the time, and outward on for eternity. Deep stuff.

Do you see now why I don’t sleep? I just get to wondering all night about subjects that really don’t have answers because the subject itself may not exist in the first place.

Really, I swear I’m not high. Just sleep deprived. Coffee anyone?

Responses

  1. […] brambledoula wrote a fantastic post today on Disclaimer: I swear Iâm not high.Here’s a quick extractI have mentioned I have insomnia. Said insomnia only gets worse during pregnancy as I have this tendency to pull the same muscle in my back every single pregnancy, and it makes it hard to sleep at night. Ironically I got this little tip … […]

  2. […] brambledoula wrote a fantastic post today on “Disclaimer: I swear Iâm not high.”Here’s ONLY a quick extractI have mentioned I have insomnia. Said insomnia only gets worse during pregnancy as I have this tendency to pull the same muscle in my back every single pregnancy, and it makes it hard to sleep at night. Ironically I got this little tip … […]

  3. Good read…

  4. […] brambledoula added an interesting post on Disclaimer: I swear Iâm not high.Here’s a small excerptThe second sort of travel to me is more a method of deep meditation. I meditate frequently myself and often a dragon or unicorn or other astral type creature may show up only because I like dragons and unicorns, feel they are creatures … […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

