Posted by: brambledoula | September 29, 2007

Birth as a journey…

I have mentioned before that birthing one way or another is not about something to prove. In fact I can see how there could be two sides, that some mothers may feel that having a medicated birth is a way to have one last thing for themselves before giving themselves over to motherhood. I don’t think it really works that way though. Giving yourself over to motherhood really starts at conception, and generally ends with birth. Some women accept this change willingly and easily, other struggle with letting go and often have hard labors. I have seen first time mothers come into their own during labor and birth; they truly transform from girl to woman to mother in front of your eyes. These are usually the longer, harder labors that you see such a visible transition, but it’s there.  You occasionally see it in multiparous mothers but it’s usually the most drastic in first timers.  I’m not sure where I was going with this today, just some random musings I think about. I guess I wonder where I am in my own journey. This is my last child, and when I transition again into mothering this baby, and as a mother of three, where will it bring me? In the great cycle of a womans life, as maiden, mother crone, it will leave me still a mother, but edging my way ever closer to crone hood. I know I know, I’m not even all that old (I get a lot of “oh isn’t that cute” in fact, when I tell people my age), but it’s something I think about. Where I’ve been, where I am, where I’m going, and where do I want to wind up. It’s all part of the path, and birth often launches us quite forcibly into change whether we want it to or not. I think when heavily medicated or interfered with births wind up with interventions or emergencies, is it because we’ve fought it so hard that it had to be ended instead of letting it end, or is it just one of those things? Who knows. Something to ponder I guess.

Leave a Reply

Categories

