Posted by: brambledoula | September 7, 2007

To sleep perchance to dream…

To sleep: perchance to dream: ay, there's the rub;
For in that sleep of death what dreams may come
When we have shuffled off this mortal coil,
Must give us pause: there's the respect
That makes calamity of so long life;
For who would bear the whips and scorns of time,
The oppressor's wrong, the proud man's contumely,
The pangs of despised love, the law's delay,
The insolence of office and the spurns
That patient merit of the unworthy takes,
When he himself might his quietus make
With a bare bodkin? who would fardels bear,
To grunt and sweat under a weary life,
But that the dread of something after death,
The undiscover'd country from whose bourn
No traveller returns, puzzles the will
And makes us rather bear those ills we have
Than fly to others that we know not of?

Ah soliloquies, home of the worlds longest run on sentences. No, I'm not thinking of
 killing myself. However, no I don't sleep, as I've mentioned.
Lately when I do sleep I have some pretty damn odd dreams. I wish I could remember
where I found it, but I read an article recently stating that pregnant women most
commonly have dreams in one of the four following topics:
Sex
Pets
Ex-loves
Partner leaving

I've surprisingly had all of these at some point recently and find it interesting that our
thoughts must all run the same while pregnant so often as to be able to predict these
genres. My most common ones lately fall into the pet category. Generally they involve
 things like mama bunnies nurturing their babies and the like, which is quite pleasant.
Occasionally, and quite separately, the ex-love pops their ugly heads in. I think the
reasoning behind them is maybe a lost youth, moving on sort of thing? I'm not sure.
Partner leaving I've fortunately only had once or twice. I imagine those just come
from the insecurity of being pregnant in general.
And of course the all famous sex dream. Ah those are generally nice. Often feature
just the faceless stranger, less often DH or sometimes the star of whatever movie
I fell asleep watching. I'm sure that those appear simply out of pregnancy just
being such a sexual state.

Anyhow I just find it so curious that I manged to fit into a category when I so often
try to break out of the mold!

					
Leave a Reply

Categories

