Posted by: brambledoula | September 3, 2007

How do I keep my kids alive?

I wonder sometimes. The reason I ask myself this is I managed to kill not one but both of my snails today, by simply cleaning out their tank. Well, not quite that simple. I got a late start in discovering that snails need calcium. So their shells unbeknownst to me were thin, and when I put them back in the tank they bumped into each other and severely and fatally cracked their shells. Now I really shouldn’t beat myself up over it. I’ve had them for well over a year and this particular breed of snail is often lucky to make it that long. I kept a betta fish alive for two years, a Walmart fish at that, well past the life expectancy of 6 months these fish usually get (even in the wild they get 2 to 3 years so I still did good). I’ve got a green iguana who’s not only been alive in my care for a year this october but even seems to be thriving (uh…short of his regrown tail that I accidentally broke…). Iguanas are supposed to be one of the hardest creatures to keep alive, and he’s alive so why can’t I keep snails alive?

Oh, and, the hardest creatures of all, MY KIDS, I’ve managed to keep alive and relatively healthy for going on 6+ years now.

So really, a couple of snails should be cake?

Alas no.

RIP Darth Vader and Mr. Bells.

Leave a Reply

Categories

