Posted by: brambledoula | August 20, 2007

Herbs to avoid while pregnant

nice comprehensive list gathered from motherlove.com

Herbs To Avoid While Pregnant

Which cleansing herbs are too strong or irritating?

Arnica
Barberry
Bee Balm
Black walnut
Blessed thistle
Catnip
Chapparal
Chicory
Colsfoot
Comfrey
Ephedra
Fenugreek
Gentian
Horehound
Horsetail
Ipecac
Juniper berries
Lobelia
Oregon grape root
Poke root
Rhubarb root
Rosemary
Uva ursi
Yarrow

Which laxative herbs are too strong to use at this time?

Aloe vera
Buckthorn
Butternut
Cascara sagrada

Which herbs that affect hormones are contraindicated during pregnancy?

Borage
Damiana
Dong quai
Licorice
Sarsparilla
Siberian ginseng
Vitex (can be used the first trimester)

Which herbs bring on contractions or bleeding?

Angelica
Birthwort (bethwort)
Black cohosh (may be used in the last 2 weeks of pregnancy)
Blue cohosh (may be used in the last 2 weeks of pregnancy)
Cotton root
Elecampane
Fenugreek
Feverfew
Goldenseal
Horehound
Lovage
Mistletoe
Motherwort
Mugworts

Responses

  1. I am 41 weeks pregnant and looking for a natural way to induce labor. I heard goldenseal will do the trick, but I dont want to take it until I know more. Can it cause the baby to have a bowel movement inside of me? I read that, but wasn’t sure if it was true. I don’t want to hurt her of course so is this really safe and worth it?

  2. honestly there is no such thing as “natural” induction. Anything you do to induce goes against what your body is trying to naturally do. I would not use goldenseal as it is a vasoconstrictor which means it tightens off the veins, restricting blood flow. I know some people who’ve had luck with black cohosh, as well as castor oil. I’ve also heard of both causing meconium issues, but meconium can also just be a sign of a post dates baby.
    Keep in mind too that the average mom goes to 41.5 weeks, longer if you’re a first time mom, and it’s now recommended to go to at least 43 weeks before there is a slight potential for decline in fetal health.
    Hang in there, you’ll be done soon no woman has been pregnant forever!

  3. I’m 39 wks and just came down with a nasty cold/flu I want to do what I can for it to be better for going into labor; I know I will need all the strength I can get! What are some good herbs/ home remedies to help my body get on track and have a speedy recovery? There seems to be a lot of contridicting yammer about whats safe in the way of cold/ flu remedies while pregnant!

  4. Well here’s the good news- most women won’t go into labor while they’re sick. so your best bet is lots of rest and fluids!! outside of that, like you said it is hard to recommend anything specific. Old fashioned chicken soup and lots of OJ are our friends šŸ™‚

  5. Great tips here, red rasberry leaf tea is popular during pregnancy too.

  6. I’m wondering if black cohosh is truly effective Ive tried a little of everything and none of the suggested herbs have helped im stuck at 40 weeks and very tried.what will do the trick

  7. After reading through this article, I just feel that I really need more info. Can you suggest some resources please?


Leave a Reply

Categories

