Posted by: brambledoula | September 21, 2007

Tag you’re it!

I came across this today and as a homebirther consider myself tagged. If you’re a homebirther, consider yourself tagged.

Here are the questions:

  1. Have you considered homebirth as an option for labor and delivery with a previous/upcoming birth?
  2. Why did you (or did you not) consider homebirth?
  3. What do you see as the major advantages for homebirth, and what are your justifications?
  4. What do you see as the major obstacles for homebirth?
  5. Is your (was your) partner “on board”?
  6. If not, did discussions (and research on the part of your partner) help?

Here are my answers:

Here are my questions:

  1. Have you considered homebirth as an option for labor and delivery with a previous/upcoming birth? Yes and Yes. I had one with my last birth and am planning one with this pregnancy as well. With my first I never even considered it and thought you had to be insane to stay home. I simply bought into the mainstream media and had no idea of the facts behind it all. Even if I had known I probably wouldn’t have stayed home with the first but at least considered a doula and possibly a birth center if available.
  2. Why did you (or did you not) consider homebirth? My first delivery went horribly botched by my care providers. I’m partly to blame as well, as I simply did not inform myself properly. I wasn’t aware I had to.  For a long time I didn’t even want another child and kept saying I wish I could just do it myself, go into the woods and birth alone or something. Then started meeting people who said, why don’t you? I began to study not just home birth but unassisted birth and came across so much compelling information that I felt hopeful and excited about having another baby.
  3. What do you see as the major advantages for homebirth, and what are your justifications? It’s so much safer. Also I really enjoy taking responsibility for my own health. It’s empowering. My #1 justification however is I have seen what the hospitals do to VBAC mothers in this area and it’s just insanity. No way am I putting myself or my baby through the danger they present.
  4. What do you see as the major obstacles for homebirth? A lot of states don’t have legal or have restricted midwifery if you choose not to UC. Many hospitals will treat you like crap should you transfer. I also think a lot of radical UC’ers come to believe that nothing can possibly go wrong if you listen to your instinct and believe all will go right. I think that’s a dangerous belief because something can go wrong no matter where you birth and what you believe. I feel it’s better to be informed and prepared than in ignorant bliss.
  5. Is your (was your) partner “on board”? Not initially but he got there and is fully on board now.
  6. If not, did discussions (and research on the part of your partner) help? Yes, I presented him with statistics and information on the safety of homebirth and UC and he decided it was a good option for us.

Responses

  1. Hey, enjoyed reading your responses, especially “My #1 justification however is I have seen what the hospitals do to VBAC mothers in this area and it’s just insanity. No way am I putting myself or my baby through the danger they present.” This is what I am struggling with.
    Happy pregnancy to you!
    ~ labortrials

  2. It’s sad really. I’ve said many times that you SHOULD be able to trust your doctors but unfortunately they’re not working in your interest anymore, they work for the insurance companies. (Which makes insurance companies retarded cuz VBAC will cost them so much less!).


Leave a Reply

Categories

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

